stub 5 Best Features in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight -
Connect with us

Best Of

5 Best Features in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight

Updated on

Blizzard Entertainment took to the stage last week to showcase the upcoming expansion for its beloved MMORPG World of Warcraft, simply titled Dragonflight. As the eleventh instalment (ninth if you exclude WoW Classic and Burning Crusade Classic), the gaming giants will look to introduce yet another banquet of content to shovel through. And the best part is, it'll surely topple the last expansion Shadowlands, which was, for lack of a better word—mediocre at best.

Fortunately, Blizzard has a long-standing history of letting juicy details slip through the net, meaning we've never had to resort to scraping the barrel for a lick of information. The same applies to Dragonflight, and we're all for it. But just what is it that makes this eleventh expansion tick—and why are we so excited to dip our heads in its cloudy vistas? Well, here's how we see it.


5. There will be a new starting zone: The Dragon Isles

It's no secret that Blizzard likes to find space in Azeroth for a new island every once in a while. This has been the case ever since the Burning Crusade which, of course, introduced Outland to us, a vast new planet that had its own zones, creatures, and quests. The same applies for Dragonflight, only it's the Dragon Isles which will find ground in the Azeroth network. And boy, does it look good.

The floating cluster of islands will see in four new zones: Waking Shores, Ohn’ahran Plains, Azure Span, and Thaldraszus. Combined, these new areas will make up the Dragon Isles, a place that houses the brand new dragonlike race. And that, of course, ushers us into our next point of interest.


4. There will be a new playable race: Dracthyr

As with any World of Warcraft expansion, Dragonflight will see in a brand new race: the Dracthyr, a dragonlike humanoid that has not only a class of its own, but a treasure trove of unique abilities and characteristics that will put even the likes of the Death Knight to shame. Though, the most obvious reason for our excitement is the fact that they can, you know—fly. How's that for upping the ante, eh?

If you choose to embark on a new journey as a Dracthyr, then you will automatically start at level 58. As you progress, your will unlock new abilities which will see you soaring from foe to foe while breathing fire, as well as dealing copious amounts of damage with your fluttering wings. And to us, that sounds like a real good time. Oh, and cheaper too, seeing how flying mounts have a history of being extortionate in past instalments.


3. The level cap is rising to 70…again

It wasn't that long ago Blizzard initiated the level squish, which saw the cap whittle down from 120 to 50. Then Shadowlands came along, and it snapped back to 60. And it was somewhere within those ten extra levels that a whole new story was introduced. Before the endgame content even thought about appearing, Shadowlands gave players a plethora of engaging content. And now, so will Dragonflight.

With the level cap going up to 70, it means we'll have another ocean of content to explore post-launch. In short, that means more quests, more characters, and a whole new story arc that will introduce a brand new antagonist to the fold. So, not just your simple repackage after all. If anything, it's a whole new game, and it will surely draw a new generation of subscribers to its chest.


2. There will be four new dungeons on launch

Dungeons in World of Warcraft are pretty common. So because of that, it's not a question of will there be any in Dragonflight—but how many will appear in Dragonflight? And the simple answer to that is, well, four. Blizzard confirmed this a little ways back, stating that the new expansion will include four new dungeons, as well as four classic dungeons. So, eight, technically.

Dungeons have always been great for those interested in PvE, and thankfully Azeroth hasn't ever kept them on a tight leash, either. They stand as convenient bridges for players to meet with one another and form healthy alliances. Plus, you know, they each hold an abundance of awesome loot. So, we'll be the first to say that, with new dungeons, comes new reasons to fall in love with the MMO all over again.


1. The Dragon Isles will be heavy on the lore

There's one thing we know about Dragonflight, and that's the amount of lore it will bring to the table. Thanks to Blizzard going into detail about the “massive” world the Dragon Isles will host, we were able to get a glimpse of the lore that will feature off the beaten path. And if what Blizzard is saying is true, then it could mean the bulk of the new world will feature a whole bunch of said paths.

Given the fact that the Dragon Isles hasn't been seen for thousands of years, it means Blizzard has been able to make its history an absolute field trip. So, with that, you can expect vast new secrets and treasures, many of which will connect to Azeroth's infancy, long before its world became populated by unusual races and creatures.


So, what's your take? Do you agree with our top five? Let us know over on our socials here or down in the comments below.

Looking for more content? You could always take a look at one of these lists:

5 Best Gaming Magazines in 2022

5 Most Popular Games on the Metaverse

Jord is acting Team Leader at If he isn't blabbering on in his daily listicles, then he's probably out writing fantasy novels or scraping Game Pass of all its slept on indies.