stub 5 Best Visual Novels Like Rearview Mirror - Gaming.net
Connect with us

Best Of

5 Best Visual Novels Like Rearview Mirror

Published

 on

Rearview Mirror: Best Visual Novels Like Rearview Mirror

There is no shortage of options for visual novel lovers. Developers have mastered the art of crafting a title for every genre. From thrillers to horror, romance, and adventure, you can enjoy captivating story-driven games of all kinds. In the latest addition, Cubus Games SL dropped the early access version of the adventure indie visual novel Rearview Mirror.

Revolving around organized crime, Rearview Mirror is a narrative video game that sets forward the themes of redemption and second chances. Salvatore Marino has seen it all as a young man involved in crime on a hostile, dangerous, and corrupt street. And finally? He ends up in prison after refusing to snitch on his accomplices. Having served his time, he now battles between rebuilding his life and falling back to temptation. For now, Cubus Games SL fanatics only have three of the game's twelve episodes to catch, but they can still enjoy these five best visual novels like Rearview Mirror.

5. Wheels of Aurelia

Wheels of Aurelia

Like with Rearview Mirror, Wheels of Aurelia’s gameplay setting is in a car. A woman is driving on the roads like Salvatore does. However, Wheels of Aurelia’s Santa Ragione makes the gameplay a little more captivating with the possibility of ending up in street car chases or illegal racing. It’s still an adventure indie game set in the Italian 70s with shades of fiction. The game’s dialogue is enticingly rich and blends well with the music and soundtrack.

But what sets Wheels of Aurelia apart is the game mechanics. You’re not simply reading through blocks of text. You are escaping life hurdles through the Italian-French border with a car that actually drives itself. However, the car allows you to make some speed boosts along the way or even navigate past highway traffic. You will meet multiple strangers, each with different stories to tell. Depending on your decisions along the trip, you will have sixteen different endings to uncover.

4. Tears of Themis

Tears of Themis

Tears of Themis is a Chinese visual novel-style video game from miHoYo. The video game features several gameplay mechanics, uniquely combining the themes of detective, romance, and adventure. The gameplay unfolds into a card battle as the female attorney and her four assistant bachelors interrogate, debate, and gather evidence for trials.

Tears of Themis is set in the futuristic city of Stellis, now a hotbed of drugs, crime, violence, and mental illness. The defense lawyer is committed to solving the drug cases with the help of four characters. In turn, the interaction triggers the romance in the side stories. Will you help your clients redeem themselves in the trial, or will you be lost in dreamy dates at the park with your ideal man?

3. Cosmic Wheel Sisterhood

Cosmic Wheel Sisterhood

You will not be the ex-convict trying to blend in with society after living in a criminal underworld. In Cosmic Wheel Sisterhood, you are the witch who has been exiled on an asteroid for 200 years. Reconnect with fellow witches and meet new ones as you venture into their new world and unearth their history. Fortuna is the witch and fortune teller who makes a prediction that doesn’t sit well with her leader. The result? She had been banished from the land for a thousand years.

The visual novel unfolds in a carefully handcrafted world and a thought-provoking story that branches in time and space. Enjoy Fortuna’s enchanting powers and mysteries as she bargains with an alien being to regain her powers and sneak back to the coven with a new tarot card reading deck. With her deck of cards, Fortuna gains the trust of other witches who come to her for their fortune revelations.

2. DRAMAtical Murder

DRAMAtical Murder

Nitro+CHiRAL put together a visual novel video game that lets you enjoy some Japanese voice acting in high-quality graphics and visuals. Like most visual novels, you will read the narrative throughout much of the gameplay, with branching storylines. Each story will have different endings, and the direction you progress in depends on the decisions you make. Players also have multiple options during the playthrough, where the dialogue progression poses until a choice is made.

With the strange events happening on the DRAMAtical Murder land, you must choose to fight or lose everything you hold dear as you play the character Aoba. On the beautiful island of Midorijima, Aoba, the main protagonist, works at a junk shop while living with his grandma. Aoba maintains his composure and is hesitant to join the gangs and engage in peer-to-peer combat after the Toue Corporation drives the island's residents out. But will the peaceful life he craves last?

1. Chasing Tails: A Promise in the Snow

Chasing Tails: A Promise in the Snow

The visual novel video game Chasing Tails: A Promise in the Snow developer breeds a perfect title unmatched in the list of the 5 best visual novels like Rearview Mirror. Any visual novel fandom that loves this release’s horror and comedy themes will undeniably marvel at how close the Last Evil Wizard and Nupu Neko Dev’s yuri narrative come to Rearview Mirror. Just like Salvatore Marino tries to avoid trouble after getting out of prison, Chasing Tails: A Promise in the Snow’s June also attempts to avoid trouble. She even moves to another small town, but her struggle seems to trail her wherever she goes.

Explore the strange events that follow June in her new town. After moving to a small town, hoping to find peace, June encounters more trouble and embarrassing situations. In fact, it looks like the new house is haunted, and that’s not all. She’s been experiencing strange dreams right after moving into her new house and has noted a stalker, a good-looking girl with unknown intentions. One day, while she sleeps on her sofa, she wakes up with no clothes on and notices a beautiful girl's shadow running away. June assumes she’s a stalker. Rin, her new neighbor, later breaks the ice and tells her that the house is cursed and has an evil spirit that only gets more powerful.

So, do you agree with our list of the 5 best visual novels like Rearview Mirror? Let us know your thoughts here on our socials or down in the comments. 

Cynthia Wambui is a gamer who has a knack for writing video gaming content. Blending words to express one of my biggest interests keeps me in the loop on trendy gaming topics. Aside from gaming and writing, Cynthia is a tech nerd and coding enthusiast.