Connect with us

News

WWE Superstar John Cena is Coming to Fortnite

Avatar photo

Published

 on

Epic Games has revealed that WWE wrestling star and actor John Cena will join the Fortnite character roster this week. The publisher revealed the news on Twitter today and in a blog post on its official website. 

The 16-time champion will be available in the Item Shop as the John Cena Outfit. The character skin will also include the entrance gear and ring gear styles. The Item Shop will have additional content. These include the WWE Championship Title Back Bling, which consists of the outfit, the open-hand Five Digit Slapper Pickaxe, and the “U Can’t C Me Emote.” The additional content will, however, be optional.  

Cena’s participation in Fortnite resulted from The Epic SummerSlam, a wider crossover and collaboration between Epic Games and WWE. Two more games from Epic will also feature WWE-themed cosmetics. The games are Fall Guys and Rocket League. Fall Guys is adding outfits for Asuka, Xavier Woods, and The Undertaker. On the other hand, Rocket League is adding decals for Roman Reigns and John Cena. 

Epic Games unequivocally stated that the John Cena Costume does not render you invisible while playing the game. While it could be interesting, it would offer you an unfair advantage over competitors who weren’t wearing the 16-time World Champion costume.

Epic Summerslam Dates and Time

The Epic Summerslam will kick off on July 28 for all three games. However, at different times. Fall Guys will go live at 2 AM PT / 5 AM ET, and Rocket League will launch at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET. Fortnite will wrap up the day at 5 PM PT / 8 PM ET.

Today’s announcement comes just a few days after the former WWE head, Vince McMahon, announced his departure from the organization amid many allegations of sexual misconduct.

Players can download Fortnite, Fall Guys, and Rocket League for free on Xbox One, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, and PC.

What do you think of John Cena’s addition to the Fortnite character roster? Do you look forward to trying out the character? Let us know over on our socials here or down in the comments below.

 

Evans I. Karanja is a freelance writer who loves to write about anything technology. He is always on the lookout for interesting topics, and enjoys writing about video games, cryptocurrency and blockchain and more. When not writing, he can be found playing video games or watching F1.